Bad at Blogging, Good at Eating

Summer Squash, Kale & Turkey Pasta

We ate this on Tuesday?  I’m pretty sure it was Tuesday.  I am writing about it on…Sunday?  What day is it?

Anyway – this was good.  One thing that I’m definitely getting better at is making up or adapting recipes.  When I first started cooking, I was a slave to the recipe.  This time, I took Mark Bittman’s Zucchini with Tomatoes and Chorizo and made it into a Gunt Original™.

Original Recipe from Mark Bittman’s Kitchen Express (Thanks again to my wonderful friend Candi for getting me this book):

Cut zucchini into quarter-inch disks; cook crumbled (Mexican) chorizo in olive oil for about three minutes or beginning to brown, then add diced shallot or onion and minced garlic; continue cooking until the shallot is translucent, a couple of minutes more.  Add the zucchini and some chopped tomatoes; cover and cook until the zucchini is tender, about five more minutes.  Add some lemon zest and juice, season with salt and pepper, serve.

I basically used this as a guide, which i mostly ignored – like I do with most things in my life.  We swapped summer squash for zucchini since that’s what we got in our CSA and turkey for chorizo because we hate Mexicans – OMG KIDDING.  WE LOVE MEXICANS AND THEIR CUISINE.  We did not have chorizo, but we had turkey, so we used that.

We cooked the turkey using one of the onions & a garlic clove from the CSA.  The onion was awesome – one was the perfect size for a pound of turkey and it was deliciously mild.  The garlic was a MIND FREAK.  When I busted open the bulb, inside there were only 4 GIANT cloves, not a million tiny-ass ones like you get at the store.  It was awesome.  I should have taken a picture.  For reasons why I didn’t please refer to the title of this post.

Anyhoo – we cooked up the turkey with some spices (paprika, salt, pepper, lemon pepper, crushed red pepper – we like pepper).  Then we added the kale.  Then we added a can of diced tomatoes with the juice, two cut up fresh tomatoes from the CSA & an 8oz jar of tomato paste to get it nice and sauce-like.  We threw in the summer squash and put a lid on that bitch and let it cook for like 10 minutes.  We ate it over orecchiette pasta, which is my favorite pasta fyi.  Please retain this knowledge and gift me with some for pasta day.  Which is not a real holiday, but it should be.

You can see more pictures of the foods and stuff at my flickr account.  As for the rest of the CSA this week, we still have a little kale left that we’ll probably make chips with.  I’ve been using the kohlrabi on my salads and it’s pretty good – nice crunch, slightly sweet.  I saved the leaves from the kohlrabi because I found this post that said they were good.  I was going to toss them in with the rest of the kale, so we’ll see what happens OH THE ANTICIPATION.  WHAT WILL SHE DO AND THEN NOT WRITE ABOUT FOR WEEKS?!?!  We have some garlic and an onion left as well.  I trimmed the greens of the onion and froze them.  I’m thinking that I can throw it in a stock someday?  Is that a wise thing to do?  It seemed like the right thing to do but I have no idea.  Please leave any input in the comments.  I promise to maybe listen but mostly ignore.

This entry was posted in CSA, Dinners and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bad at Blogging, Good at Eating

  1. noëlle says:

    Did you get the garlic from your CSA too? I got some garlic just like that at Western recently- it was a different variety than what you usually get at a grocery store, the skin was more purple and it had like 5 ginormous cloves and was much fresher and “crisper” than the white garlic I usually find. I need to go back there and re-up.

  2. nate says:

    This pasta was amazing! Definitely a new favorite.

Leave a Reply

